Florida RNs and LPNs license renewal information
ARNPs, RNS, and LPNS
FMES courses are approved by the Florida Board of Nursing.
FMES will instantly report credits to cebroker, if you provide a correct and current Florida license number. For others, FMES offers free assistance to supply the Board with a copy of your certificate. Just request it!
Below is information when applying for and renewing a Florida nursing license. Also, Information on transferring your out of state license to Florida. FMES is an approved CE provider by the Florida Board of Nursing. We offer approved nursing continuing education for Florida nurses.
We offer the initial Prevention Medical Errors course that is required for all applicants. Get Started Now! No need to pre-pay. Register, pass the test, then pay. Certificates available for 4 years.
All Florida-licensed RN's and LPNs are now in a 24-month renewal cycle and must complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period. One (1) contact hour is required for each calendar month of the licensure cycle, including;
- Medical Error Prevention- 2 contact hours
- HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal.
- Domestic Violence CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal. For example, if you renew your license on January 31, 2013, you are required to complete the Domestic Violence CE before the January 31, 2019 renewal. Domestic Violence is required every third biennium and the hours are in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal. This means you must complete 26 hours to be renewal ready.
- Laws and Rules for Florida Nurses is a 2 contact hour requirement. Starting with the biennium that ends in 2015. When you renew your nursing license in 2015 this course will be required.
- New - Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace is a 2 contact hour requirement. Starting with your first license renewal after August 1, 2017, this course will be required, then every other biennium thereafter.
For Initial Licensure
All RNs and LPNs initially licensed within the biennium are exempt from the CE requirements for the first renewal with the exception of a two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors, a two (2) hour course relating to Florida laws and rules, 2 hours of Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace (effective date 8/2017), and the (1) hour HIV/AIDS.
*Unless you transferred your license from another state to Florida, then you must complete 1 contact hour for every month you are licensed in Florida, plus a (2) hour Medical Error Prevention and (1) hour HIV/AIDS.
Florida Continuing Education Requirements for Renewal:
All RNs (including CNS and ARNP) and LPNs are required to complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education (CE) during each renewal period, including two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors, 2 hours of Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace (effective date 8/2017), and two (2) hours of Laws and Rules relating to the practice of nursing.
In addition to these 24 hours of general CE, each RN and LPN must complete two (2) hours of domestic violence CE every third renewal for a total of 26 hours.
Florida CE requirement for first renewal by Examination:
Nurses licensed by examination during the current renewal period, in any state, are exempt from the CE requirements for the first renewal with the exception of:
Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors.
One (1) hour of HIV/AIDS.
Two (2) hour course relating to laws and rules for the FL nurse.
Two (2) hour course Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace
Note: This exemption is lost if the license is not renewed by the renewal deadline.
To renew your Florida Nursing license online click here.
To visit the Florida Board of Nursing website click here
Customer Contact Center
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET
If you are an applicant, the Florida Board of Nursing recently informed FMES, it is best if the customer forwards the certificate to the Board.
Whenever you are ready, please forward your certificate of course completion to the FL Board of Nursing atYou will need to sign into your FMES.net account and generate an email certificate from your "Available certificate" Tab. Next proceed to your email account and look for the "FMES Certificate" email. Open the email and forward it to the above address.
Effective January 1, 2013, applicants for initial licensure must use a LiveScan service provider to submit a set of fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) for the purpose of conducting a search for any Florida and national criminal history records that may pertain to applicant.