Florida CNA Mandatory In-Service training classes online
12 hours of (mandatory study area) ceu's for only $24.96. We also have a second 12 hour course for CNA's for $9.96. After you complete these two course bundles, you have satisfied all the State of Florida's continuing education requirements for CNA license renewal.
*Renewing your CNA license is a two step process. First, you complete 24 hours of continuing education. Second, you renew your CNA license with the Florida Board of Nursing. You can renew online once you complete 24 hours. Click here to go to the Board of Nursing's website to renew.
FMES is approved by the Florida Board of Nursing.
It's easy to earn your 24 hours with FMES!
1) Read the study material,
2) Pass the test, (unlimited re-testing)
3) Then, pay within 40 days of passing the test to receive a certificate and to instantly have your credits reported to the state's auditing system.
Another pricing option we have available is a one year membership. With this option you can complete unlimited ceu's online for one year for $35. You will need to call 386-325-5790 to set up the membership.
Certified Nursing Assistants are required by the Florida Board of Nursing to complete 12 in-service hours per calendar year that shall include the following subject areas during the biennium license renewal cycle (2 years).
- Blood Borne Pathogens, Infection Control; (3 hours)
- Domestic Violence; (2 hours)
- Medical Record Documentation and Legal Aspects Appropriate to Nursing Assistants;
- Resident Rights; (2 hours)
- Communication with cognitively impaired clients; (1 hour)
- CPR skills; (1 hour)
- Medical Error Prevention and Safety. (2 hours)
Florida CNA license renewal
Your Florida CNA license is good for 2 years. The Board of Nursing sends out renewal letters to your last known address. It is your responsibility to keep your address current with the Nursing Assistant Registry. We report credits to CEBroker, the state's auditing system.
Check your license, some CNAs will expire 5/31/2017
If you did not renew your license/certificate by 5/31/2016 it will become delinquent and you will be required to pay a delinquent fee of $50, in addition to the renewal fee. If renewing 120 day Notified Delinquent, your fees will be $170.
Frequently asked questions:
How many hours do I need to renew my CNA license?
Each certified nursing assistant must complete a minimum of 24 hours of in-service training each license cycle. A license cycle is 2 years. For new candidates certified during the year, the minimum in-service hours required shall be prorated at the rate of 1.0 hours per month from the month of initial certification to the end of the calendar year.
All Florida CNA licenses are now expiring May 31st. The Board of Nursing has moved the license expiration month from December to May.
The CNA Registry under the Florida Board of Nursing only requires a TOTAL of 24 hours of ceu's for license renewal.
Once you renew for the first time with the expiration of May 31st the license cycle starts over. You will need 24 hours again.
Contact hours = hours of in-service = continuing education = ceu's = credits = all the same meaning.
In addition, the Agency for Healthcare Administration and the Department of Elderly Affairs have specific in-service requirements for CNAs who work in certain facilities or agencies.
Help, I need another 12 hours of continuing education.
No problem, to earn a 2nd set of 12 hours for only $9.96 - Pass the course titled: Your 2nd - 12 hour inservice training for CNAs only
Did I have to work as a CNA at anytime?
In order to renew the CNA license at the end of the two year renewal cycle, CNAs are required to perform nursing-related services for monetary compensation within the last 24 consecutive months in order to remain on the registry.
Licensees who fail to meet these requirements must reapply for licensure and comply with current laws and rules. Licensees who have become Null and Void or elected to Voluntary Relinquish their CNA license, must reapply for licensure and meet current requirements.
Where do I go to renew my license?
How long will it take to get my renewal license in the mail?
The process of renewing a license and receiving a printed license in the mail may take 7-10 business days. Initiating contact to confirm the receipt of fees or the status of your license prior to this time will not expedite the renewal process.
How long should I store my continuing education certificates?
A certified nursing assistant must retain in-service compliance records for a period of 4 years and submit records to the Board if required for auditing. FMES will keep a record of your in-service hours, that are completed on our website, for 4 years.
Where do I go to transfer my CNA license to Florida?
Nursing assistants certified out-of-state wishing to transfer their certification to Florida may apply for reciprocity.
• You may transfer your CNA certificate from another state to Florida if the certificate is still active and has not expired or lapsed. You are not required to take the state exam.
• Your certificate must be in good standing with the other state and you will be required to have a background check (FBI).
• The FBI background check will take approximately 6-8 weeks but delays of several months are not uncommon. You are encouraged to apply early.
• You will receive a Florida CNA certificate after your out-of-state certificate has been verified in good standing and your FBI background has been cleared.
Mailing address for the Florida Registry of CNA's:
Certifed Nursing Assistant Registry
Florida Board of Nursing
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN C13
Tallahassee, FL 32399
If you have any further questions, please contact the CNA registry at: